top of page

Thrift Flip: Tropical Ottoman

I was looking through a local furniture store when I found the most beautiful bohemian tasseled floor cushion. Before looking at the price I convinced myself it was worth whatever price they had it at. Mmmmm... it was 200 dollars... My husband about died and kept walking. I set it back down so disappointed and secretly told myself I would come back for it in a few months.


The next day I was in a thrift store - For those of you in Utah it was the famous Deseret Industries. I spotted this VERY DIRTY torn up faux silk ottoman.. but it was the PERFECT size for my living room and my mind immediately went to how I could transform it.


I happily bought it for 10 dollars!!


I found a beautiful tropical fabric at Joanns that I knew could be a beautiful cover.


I got it home and took the disgusting cover off of it as quickly as I could. Underneath was a mostly clean white canvas.


I was worried the sewing process would be hard and I would totally screw it up but it was actually very easy.


I started off measuring the circle, and the width and length of the side. After you cut your fabric you should have one circle for the top and a long rectangle for the side.


When sewing always always cut your fabric a little bigger than you need. For the top circle I left an inch extra. For the side fabric I left like 6 inches extra at the bottom so I could fold it under and staple it to the bottom.






I slipped the over over the ottoman and stapled all the extra fabric very tightly to the bottom. It turned out so beautiful and its the first thing people compliment when they walk into my home!

Sometimes thrift store tutorials seem unhelpful because you cant click a link and buy the same ottoman to do this tutorial exactly how I did, but the beauty in projects is finding something ugly, and having a vision for it! So don't get hung up on copying my tutorials exactly, use them as inspiration for your own items. Ive seen people use tires, bins, barrels, and all kinds of random things to create seats like this. Don't be afraid to get creative!

7 views0 comments
bottom of page